PATIO SERENITY — In the early-morning stillness at Rancho Bernardo Inn, committee members complete preparations for the 2019 RBIWGC Invitational tournament breakfast. (Photo by Harry Maxfield)

Golfers win prizes at 2019 RBIWGC Invitational

[EDITOR’S NOTE: The 2020 RBIWGC Invitational was canceled because of the Covid-19 pandemic. The results here are from the 2019 Invitational.]

Sixteen of the 36 foursomes participating in the 2019 Rancho Bernardo Inn Women’s Golf Club Invitational on May 14 won team awards, and six golfers won prizes for their individual on-course expertise.

For the first time in two years, the tournament also produced a hole-in-one. Diana Bolander used her No. 6 hybrid to hit a perfect shot to the back pin location, scoring an ace on No. 13.

Format for the tournament was four-person team modified waltz. Scoring required that each team use the one best score of the foursome on par 5s, the two best scores of the foursome on par 4s, and the three best scores of the foursome on par 3s. The 16 groups that tallied a win in gross or net scoring across four flights were:

Flight A

First place gross:  Molly Jo Miller, Sue Richardson, Deb Finlon and Rachel Hunter
Second place gross:  Marti Bonelli, Janet Bishop, Jami Bishop and Carrie Campbell Wood
First place net:  Faye Tong, Marcia Rausch, Julie Preston and Young Lee
Second place net:  Natalie Sentz, Darlene Fahey, Diane Baireuther and Angie Stiklaitis

Flight B

First place gross:  Judi Berlin, Dena Marvel, Laura Dixon and Monique Van Aalst
Second place gross:  Cathy Jorgensen, Wanna Caverly, Kathy Kuhn and Annie Governski
First place net:  Chris Shorkey, Cretia Hadley, Mindy Sam Davis and Annette Hirt
Second place net:  Jolyn Racey, Tricia Fryar, Dawn Flannery and Linda Commons

Flight C

First place gross:  Diane Borden, Sue Rowe, Jo Ann Trick and Suzanne LaTour
Second place gross:  Karen Jackson, Mickie St. Pierre, Mary Jane Palmquist and Anne Allen
First place net:  Marianne Proctor, Stephanie Sullins, Kim Mills and Cindy Price
Second place net:  Donna Williams, Judy Miller, Barbara Bell and Nancy Bassett

Flight D

First place gross:  Donna Boyce, Terry Wade, Mary Jo Rice and Diana Bolander
Second place gross: Hilary Quinn, Liz Burchill, Joyce Dubuque and Gayle Russell
First place net:  Teresa Swanson, Kitty Seymour, Nemira Stauskas and Linda Howell
Second place net:  Marian Jacobs, Tessa Hurley, Barbara Brooks and Anita Nammo

Individual winners

Closest to pin on No. 2:  Linda Commons
Closest to pin on No. 4:  Mary Jollon
Closest to pin on No. 11:  Cathy Jorgensen
Closest to pin on No. 13:  Diana Bolander (*hole-in-one)
Longest drive on No. 12:  Suzanne LaTour
Straightest drive on No. 8:  M.C. Eastman

Putting contest (inaugural event)

First place:  Arilla St. Laurent
Second place:  Jo Lea Von Herzen
Third place:  Donna Dahl

Tournament sponsors

Premier sponsor:  Steven Campbell, Pacific Sotheby’s International Realty
Hole-in-One sponsor:  Barbara Warden

Tee-box sponsors:  Kathy Auten (two tee boxes); Pat Bakke (two tee boxes); Alan J. Beilstein (State Farm agent, two tee boxes); Bernardo West Chiropractic (Hee, D.C., Oslance, D.C.); Circle of Health (Monique Van Aalst, LMT/BS); Caroline Dixon; Escondido Metal Supply, Metal Amore; Family First Chiropractic & Wellness Center; Gilbert Fimbres (VP & CFO, San Ysidro Health); Linda Freemott (Associate, RE/MAX Associates); Pat Fuller (Mission Realty Group); GOLFTEC (Suzanne LaTour); Tessa Hurley; MJ and Young Lee (two tee boxes); LPGA Amateur Golf Association; LS Investment Management (Laurie Lipman, Beth Westburg); Mickey McBratney (Berkshire Hathaway Home Services); Hilary Quinn; Sheryl Rowling (principal, CPA/PFS, Rowling & Associates); Romona Smith; Town Center Cleaners; Village Mail & More (Pat O’Sullivan); Vines & Vittles (sponsors: RB Rotary, RB Historical Society); and Workplace Services, Inc.

RBIWGC tournaments draw members, non-members

The Rancho Bernardo Inn Women’s Golf Club sponsors two major, members-only tournaments each year:

  • The Club Championship is a two-day tournament. Format is stroke play, gross score. In 2021, the event was played on June 8 and June 15.
  • The President’s Cup is a two-day tournament. Format is stroke play, net score. In 2021, the event is scheduled for October 5 and October 12.

Up to two additional special tournaments may be conducted during the year at the discretion of the Special Tournaments Chair and approved by the Board of Directors. For 2021, the Board approved the addition of these two tournaments:

  • Two-Person Scramble, played on March 2.
  • Individual Eclectic, scheduled for August 3 and August 10.

In addition, the Club hosts an Invitational tournament each year. A full field of amateur women golfers from throughout Southern California participates in this premier event. Because of the Covid-19 pandemic, the 2020 Invitational was canceled. The 2021 Invitational is scheduled for Tuesday, September 21.

See complete results of the 2019 Invitational above. For a report about the tournament, please click here.

To view the full 2021 RBIWGC calendar, please click here.