EARLY MORNING CARTS — Sunshine edges the patio staging area before the start of the RBIWGC 2021 Invitational tournament. (Photo by Roy Burchill)

Golfers win prizes at 2021 RBIWGC Invitational

Sixteen of the 36 foursomes participating in the 2021 Rancho Bernardo Inn Women’s Golf Club Invitational on September 21 won team awards, and six golfers won prizes for their individual on-course expertise. The tournament also produced a hole-in-one: Camille Medina scored an ace on the No. 4 par 3 and won a $150 prize, donated by RBIWGC member Mary Lynne Bachman.

Format for the tournament was four-person team modified waltz. Scoring required that each team use the one best score of the foursome on par 5s, the two best scores of the foursome on par 4s, and the three best scores of the foursome on par 3s. The 16 groups that tallied a win in gross or net scoring across four flights were:

Flight A

First place gross:  Deb Finlon, Rachel Hunter, Camille Medina and Stef Olow
Second place gross:  Cathy Wright, Pat Gordon, Susan Boeshart and Diane Means
First place net:  Chie Urban, Kiyomi Kitamura, June Hanaoka and LeVu Long
Second place net:  Linda Eves, Deb Linder, Elna Eriksen and Kitty Masters

Flight B

First place gross:  Cathy Jorgensen, Wanna Caverly, Julie Martin and Kim McMillan
Second place gross:  Sandi Simpson, Jolyn Racey, Trisha Fryar and Denise McNeese
First place net:  Pat Lafser, Sally Hagar, Judy Hagar and Monica Lee
Second place net:  Anne Allen, Dee Dee Kovacevich, Maralee Blain and Alex Boswell

Flight C

First place gross:  Chris Shorkey, Cretia Hadley, Annette Hirt and Marie Horn
Second place gross:  Joyce Dubuque, Liz Burchill, Barbie Hafner and Mary Lynne Bachman
First place net:  Resa Coopat, Marci Kress, Pat Haberman and Wendy Eagle
Second place net:  Marianne Proctor, Kim Mills, Stephanie Sullins and Janet Jones

Flight D

First place gross:  Darcy Petronella, Nancy Minerva, M.J. Rice and Carole Provost
Second place gross:  Fran Maxfield, Theresa McGuire, Carol Youmans, Marsha Bouman
First place net:  Sharon Sherman, Janis Newlin, Linda Marshall and Dawn Hambrick
Second place net:  Paula Kasl, Mavany Verdugo, Tessa Hurley and Anita Nammo

Individual winners

Closest to pin on No. 2:  M.J. Rice
Closest to pin on No. 4:  Camille Medina (*hole-in-one)
Closest to pin on No. 11:  Missie Jacobs
Closest to pin on No. 13:  Sharon Sherman
Longest drive on No. 12:  Camille Medina
Straightest drive on No. 8:  Monique Van Aalst

Putting contest (second annual)

First place:  Pat Steeves
Second place:  Helene Shaughnessy
Third place:  Susi Casper

Tournament sponsors

Hole-in-One sponsor:  Mary Lynne Bachman

Tee-box sponsors:  Kathy Auten (two boxes); Pat Bakke (two boxes); Alan Beilstein, State Farm Agent (two boxes); Bernardo West Chiropractic, Hee, D.C., Oslance, D.C.; Sallie Britzman; Susi Casper; Maria Chavez; Circle of Health, Monique Van Aalst, LMT/BS; Del Rio Studios, Patricia Del Rio; Caroline Dixon; Glaser-Bailey Awards (three boxes); Hair by Carol Clark; High Bluff Capital Management, Patrick Mead (two boxes); Tessa Hurley Family; Kathy Kendric; Pat Lafser (two boxes); LPGA Amateur Golf Association; Young & M.J. Lee; Mickey McBratney, Berkshire Hathaway; Metal Amore´, Petronella Family; Hilary Quinn; Sheryl Rowling & Assoc., Principal, CPA/PFS (two boxes); Romona Smith (two boxes); Karen Stelman, RB Rotary; Dr. Richard Trevisin, D.C., RB Chiropractic; Village Mail & More, Pat O’Sullivan; and Workplace Services, John & Donna Boyce.

RBIWGC tournaments draw members, non-members

The Rancho Bernardo Inn Women’s Golf Club sponsors two major, members-only tournaments each year:

  • The Club Championship is a two-day tournament. Format is stroke play, gross score. In 2022, the event — originally scheduled for June 7 and June 14 — was postponed because of poor course conditions.
  • The President’s Cup is a two-day tournament. Format is stroke play, net score. In 2022, the event — originally scheduled for September 20 and September 27 — was postponed because of poor course conditions.

Up to two additional special tournaments may be conducted during the year at the discretion of the Special Tournaments Chair and approved by the Board of Directors. For 2022, the Board approved the addition of these two tournaments:

  • Two-Person Scramble, played on March 8.
  • Individual Eclectic, originally scheduled for August 23 and August 30, was canceled because of poor courses conditions.

In addition, the Club hosts an Invitational tournament each year. A full field of amateur women golfers from throughout Southern California participates in this premier event. The 2021 Invitational was played on Tuesday, September 21. Because of continuing uncertainties related to the Covid-19 pandemic, the tournament for 2022 has been suspended. The next Invitational is being planned for May 2023.

See complete results of the 2021 Invitational above.

To view the full 2022 RBIWGC calendar, please click here.